Plugged firewall hole

When I was fixing the nose gear, I had to enlarge the hole in the firewall for the new bolt.  After I was done fixing it, I covered the hole with some aluminum tape.  Not the ideal solution.  So today I fixed the hole by enlarging it to 7/8″ and putting in a new stainless steel hole plug from Home Depot.  I made a plate out of .032 aluminum to take up some thickness so that the plug would stay seated better.  I also applied a generous coat of red RTV so seal it completely.

firewall_plug

Leave a Reply

